Indigenous Vendors Pavillion

The festival was also an opportunity for Indigenous vendors to sell their goods to the public. There was Indigenous art, clothing, jewellery and decorations for sale.

INDIGENOUS GOODS FOR SALE

FESTIVALdad

VENDORS PAVILLION

FESTIVALshoppers

I was particularly interested in one booth that had beautiful brightly coloured prints. Unfortunately for me, the prints were out of my price range, although the art dealer, offered me a price cut of $100 from $120, it was more than I was willing to spend. Although there was a significant crowd, I did not get the sense that vendors were having a good day of sales. I do not know if it is because the crowd devalued Aboriginal art, but it makes me wonder about the elitism of art. There is significant disparity in what people are willing to pay for art from various communities. I believe the valuation of art is linked to a valuation of culture and a subjective evaluation of cultural skills or talent. I have never purchased expensive art, but I question if I would be more willing to spend $100 if I were at an art gallery downtown, because we are conditioned to expect high prices in particular locales.


INDIGENOUS FOOD

The food booths were all from the Na-Me-Res shelter and sold native food such as bannock and corn soup and Indian meat tacos as well as Canadian fair-food staples- hamburgers and hot dogs to fundraise.

IMG_2519

CORN SOUP & BANNOCK

I had corn soup, which is a pork and corn-based broth with white and red kidney beans.  It was actually pretty good and I wished I had ordered that first, because the hot dog which I bought in the first place was pretty disappointing.

Leave a Reply

